Events & Meetings

Lewis County Solid Waste Disposal District No. 1

Pursuant to RCW 36.58.100 et seq., the Lewis County Solid Waste Disposal District (LCSWDD) No. 1, a quasi-municipal corporation, was established by Ordinance 1124 (now LCC 8.15.150) in 1992, after Lewis County and all incorporated cities signed an interlocal agreement to form it. In addition to forming the district, the agreement established flow control, directing all solid waste generated in Lewis County to be disposed of at LCSWDD sites. Representatives from the cities and the County serve as the Executive Advisory Committee to the Disposal District Commissioners, who by statute are the Lewis County Commissioners. The Lewis County Public Works Director serves as clerk of the board. This interlocal agreement was renewed in 2017.

The governing board of the LCSWDD #1 meets at 1:30 p.m. the fourth Monday of each month in the hearing room of the Lewis County Commissioners, second floor of the historic Lewis County Courthouse, 351 N.W. North St., Chehalis, WA 98532. There may be times, however, that the Disposal District Board of Commissioners will change the time and/or date of the meeting with proper public notification. The meetings are open to the public.

Lewis County Solid Waste Advisory Committee

The Lewis County SWAC meets at 1:00 p.m. the second Wednesday of every other month in the new Lewis County Public Works Building, 57 W. Main St., Chehalis, WA 98532. If a regularly scheduled meeting lands on a holiday, members may elect to cancel the meeting or vote to meet on an alternate date.

Meetings are open to the public, and offered online via Zoom. Please contact the Lewis County Solid Waste Utility Office at 360-740-1451 or email to receive Zoom registration information.

Prev Next