
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON 

FOR LEWIS COUNTY 

 

State of Washington, 

County of Lewis, or 

City of ___________, 

   Plaintiff, 

vs. 

 

_____________________________, 

  

Defendant. 

 

 

Cause No. _______________________   

 

          

Petition for Contested Hearing on Infraction(s) 

via Written Statement (No appearance) 

 

 

This is the form used to request a deferred finding and/or a contested hearing by mail.  Fill out 

the FRONT and BACK of this form, sign it, and return it as indicated below.  

 I request a contested hearing by written statement. 
 
The undersigned Defendant requests that the Court review this declaration made under penalty of perjury 

and decide whether the infractions below have been committed. 

 

I have received a notice of infraction for the following offense(s): 

 

1. _____________________________________________  Penalty  $____________ 

2. _____________________________________________  Penalty  $____________ 

3. _____________________________________________  Penalty  $____________ 

I did not commit the infraction(s).  I respectfully ask the court to consider my testimony as follows: (lines 

continue on back of form; you may also attach additional materials if needed) Note: Anything submitted to 

the court will not be retained nor returned. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Check this box if you wish to request a finding of committed be deferred.  
A deferred finding is available only for traffic infractions.  Within a seven-year period, a person may 

receive one deferred finding on a moving violation and one deferred finding on a nonmoving 

violation.  A deferred finding is discretionary, and the Judge may not grant deferred findings on some 

infractions.  Drivers with CDLs or who committed infractions in a commercial vehicle are ineligible.  

In Lewis County, a person who lacks a valid license and insurance is also ineligible.  If the judge 

grants your deferred finding, the decision on your case will be deferred for between 6 and 12 months.  

(You will be notified of the duration.)  During that time, you must commit no crimes nor infractions 

and pay an administrative fee of $175.00 (+ $10.00 time payment fee if assessed).  If you satisfy both 

conditions, your infraction(s) will be dismissed.  If not, the infraction(s) will be found committed, 

you will be assessed the penalty amount and a $52.00 penalty in addition to the administrative fee of 

$175.00 (+ $10 time payment fee if assessed).  The finding will be reported to the Washington 

Department of Licensing (DOL), who may begin processing your driver’s license for suspension.  If 

any charges are pending, the deferral period will be tolled until they are resolved.  Fill out the rest of 

this form even if you are requesting a deferred finding.  If you request a deferred finding using this 

form, but are not granted the deferred, the Court will conduct a contested hearing based upon your 

statement below.  



_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

I promise that if it is determined that I committed the infraction(s) for which I was cited, I will pay the 

monetary penalty authorized by law and assessed by the Court.   

If that occurs, I request _______ months (4 months maximum) to pay the penalty in full.  

I understand there shall be no appeal from a decision on written statements pursuant to LLIRLJ 3.5. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that all of the statements above 

are true and correct.   

 ____________________________ ________________________________________ 

  [Date and Place Signed] [Defendant’s Signature] 

Defendant’s printed name and mailing address: ________________________________________ 

  ________________________________________ 

  ________________________________________ 

 Defendant’s phone number, in case needed: ________________________________________ 

Defendant’s email address: _________________________________________________________ 

 

Within 15 days of receipt of this form, submit the completed form at the District Court counter or by mail 

to Lewis County District Court, Law and Justice Center, 345 W. Main St. 3rd Floor, Chehalis, WA 98532-

4802.   


