#### 1. When did the smoke-ban take effect?

The ban took effect on December 8th, 2005. The ban was an initiative to the people of Washington State and passed by a majority in all 39 counties!

### 2. Where does the smoke-ban apply?

Smoking is now prohibited in all public places and all workplaces in Washington, including restaurants and bars.

### 3. How are "public places" and "workplaces" defined?

"Public place" means any place used by and open to the public, regardless of ownership and regardless of whether a fee is charged for admission.

"Workplace" means any area which employees are required to pass through during the course of employment. Workplaces are not limited to indoor areas.

## 4. So is smoking banned everywhere, even in bars? What about after midnight or in smoking rooms?

The Smoking in Public Places (RCW 70.160) law now bans smoking in public places and workplaces including, but not limited to: bars, restaurants, bowling alleys, skating rinks, casinos, private clubs, reception areas and a minimum of 75% of rooms in hotels. There are no exceptions – in places that are covered under the law, the ban applies everywhere, all the time.

#### 5. Is it true that there is no smoking within 25 feet of any door or window?

Smoking is prohibited near all doorways, windows and air intakes of any protected areas in order to ensure that smoke does not enter into the building. If smoke enters a protected space, it is the responsibility of the person(s) in control of the property to increase the distance where smoking is prohibited until smoke is no longer entering into the building.

#### 6. How is that going to be enforced?

Complaints will be reviewed and evaluated on an individual basis for follow-up. Public Health will work with property owners and managers to resolve the issue whenever possible. If that approach is not successful, Public Health will use its authority to enforce the law and to insure that the establishment comes into and maintains compliance.

## 7. What is the penalty for violating the new law?

The new law includes a \$100 fine for violators.

#### 8. How do I file a complaint?

Work in progress

#### 9. How will my complaint be handled?

Complaints are evaluated weekly and prioritized based on the type of complaint (indoor/outdoor workplace/smoke entering from inside), the number/legitimacy of complaints, and the perceived threat to public health.

## 11. Where can I see a copy of the law?

- Smoking in Public Places (RCW 70.160)
- Initiative 901 (PDF)

# 12. What if I have questions about the new law or want help in quitting smoking (tobacco)?

Give us a call at 360-740-1489 for questions relating to the law and call 1-800-QUITNOW or visit <u>quitline.com</u> for information on quitting.